Sensory Overload

I’m back in North Carolina. And North Carolina is still beautiful. More pristine than ever, polished, and intellectual. The colors of October are magnificent. The smell of wild flowers and dying grass overwhelming. I don’t remember Banner Elk smelling like this before. But, I think that I’ve spent only one summer here. These are the left over smells of summer. The only new smell is of the leaves that had fallen to the ground, drenched by rain.I have been smoking. Everybody smokes in North Carolina.I am finding lots of new, and not too much of old Banner Elk energy. I am amazed at the beauty of open green meadows framed by tricolor foliage. I am amazed by the old friends. We are in step, in the same frame of mind. Happy, kind, funny, generous. Beauty is truly all around me. I am so happy.


Leave a comment